D365 Quick Tip: Assign your records but keep control

At times, you are asked to assign certain CRM records to other users and you just have to do it as a part of the process.

But let’s face it, you still wonder what might have happened to the record after you assigned it to them but your security roles won’t let you access those.

There’s a general D365 setting for this too! You can share your D365 records with other but still retain rights to yourself so keep track of what happened with those later on

Setting

  1. Navigate to Settings > Administration > System Settings
    settingLocation
  2. In General tab, look for the Setting where it reads as ‘Set whether reassigned records are shared with the original owner’ (quite self-explanatory)
    settingChanged

Assign Record and check Share Rights

  1. Now, assigning a records from Priyesh to John as shown below –
    assignToJohn.png
  2. Priyesh would still have rights to the record. Check the Share status of the same. The record will be owner by John but will be shared with Priyesh too.
    assignedToJohn

Hope this is helpful! 😊

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.